RedKings Tournament Table
  • Up to $1000 Deposit Bonus
  • Download or Instant Play
  • Tens of thousands of players
Download RedKings Software
Poker Stars Tournaments
  • Sunday $1 Million Guaranteed
  • Frequent Player Program
  • best multi-table tournaments
Play at
Party Poker Tournaments
  • Millions In Winnings Each Month
  • Respected Online Poker Room
  • 24/7 Sit & Go Poker Tournaments
Download PartyPoker Software
Poker news

Montel Williams To Play for the U.S. Team at the Poker Nations Cup

On March 26th, 2008, talk show host and poker enthusiast Montel Williams will play for the U.S. team at the Poker Nations Cup, which will be headed by Robert Williamson III. The U.S. Team Members are Jamie Gold, Chris Ferguson, Freedy Deeb and Chad Brown. Montel Williams commented that he is very honored for being given the chance to play for the United States and he is very happy for part of a very talented team. Williams first joined the poker circuit at last year's WSOP Main Event, where he was able to held the chip lead for a single day.

The 2008 Poker Nations Cup will feature teams from Great Britain, Ireland, Sweden, Netherlands, Germany and the United States. The poker tournament will also have one qualifier from PartyPoker playing together with the world class teams. Each player in the event will shell out $5,000 of buy-in cost for the total cash pool of $280,000 (another $100,000 will be given by PartyPoker).

Over six preliminaries, each player will participate once to make points for their teams and single winners will win $20,000 for themselves. All of the six participating teams will then compete in the tag final event where each team chief's decision is important to make substations and calling for timeouts to plan strategy. The winning team will be the last team with a player in play.

There will be no qualifiers from the U.S. because PartyPoker does not accept U.S. players due to the UIGEA, so Williamson III decided that Williams will be a good player for the U.S. Team. The defending champion Swedish team will be headed by Bo Sehlstedt and will have Mats Rahm, William Thorsson, Johan Storakers and Anders Henriksson. Johan Ocklind will join the Swedish team as the team's online qualifier.


04/04/2008, Friday
Sherry Barlow

Related Stories

Share This...   


Main Topics
Our Sponsors